Life Goes On

The sun is streaming in the windows this morning. It's cool outside, like fall kind of cool. I guess it's a sure sign that life goes on, things change and hearts heal.

Dad's funeral was yesterday. It was indeed another sad day but it brought some closure. The inevidible ending had come and now has gone. Over 22 different plants and flowers were sent for him. They were each unique and so beautiful. The church was full of people who had come to pay their respects. Respects for him and support for all of us left behind wasn't in short supply. There was a hug available at every turn. A couple cousins on my Mom's side came - one drove all the way from Wyoming, the other lives about an hour away. Mom's oldest brother came from Sidney too. It was sure good to see all of them, but agreed we HAVE TO plan a get together next summer that's just for fun. It was a beautiful service. Now there's just the making of a new kind of normal.

In the midst of all this, I tore out my bathroom to keep my mind busy. Son just loves it when I get a wild hair like this. The bathroom is no longer pink or mauve, it's an earthy mocha tan color. I bought knotty pine Wanes (sp?) coating that we clear coated and it will replace the once mauvey colored paneling that was there. Son is also laying new tile floor vs the old ratty carpet that was there. He's building me a new real pine/maple cabinet to replace the white Wally's cheapy that holds the towels, etc. I'll clear coat that too. Crown molding (clear coated) will dawn the top of the walls and also cover the ceiling where my poor painting skills are well on display. And then clear coated baseboard to finish it all off. Prettiest Cousin, I'll have to send you the latest house remodel pictures when it's done.

Other remodel plans... since Dad has passed on, I have the opportunity to purchase my house from my sisters, which I will do. Plans are fix the basement issue, build a new garage in the back of the property - removing the attached garage that is a huge problem, new back porch, new windows in the house and siding. Hopefully Mom & Dad will like what we've done when they see it from Heaven.

Prettiest Cousin, got the beautiful jewelry you sent. I wore it to meet with the minister on Thursday and to the service yesterday. In the midst of the doings, people were commenting on it and "where did I get it." I referred them to your jewelry website! :) I can work with a small sales commission! hahaha Seriously, they are beautiful and I couldn't hardly decide which one to wear first. Opted for the green and dark blue, both days. And the key chains - they're so darn cute! I want to split up my keys so I can use them all at once! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

Son's tuition statement came - only two more payments of $806 to go. I should be jumping for joy at the thought of it almost being done, but I sure am tired of it show up in my mailbox all the time. It's really not that much, I know many people pay much much more than me, but geeze... can't a girl get a break?

I suppose I should try to make a path through the kitchen to the coffee pot. Son will be up soon and raring to go. MUST.HAVE.COFFEE.

Have a wonderful Sunday ladie.

� grizmom at
2005-08-13
comment

Previous / Next