My Banker, My Buddy

The countdown is on! 3 more days of 2 jobs and I'm off for 8 days! Count'em - 2-4-6-8. 8 DAYS! I volunteered to work Friday night at job 2 since they scheduled the gal who just had her tonsils out last week... DUH!! Who makes this stinking schedule anyway??? So, An extra $60 in the bank will be a nice little extra. I'm off tonight so I'll get the Christmas food shopping done and then hopefully do a little quilting and just relax.

There was a horrible house fire in town yesterday afternoon and I was listening to it on the scanner in my office. The 57 year old man with MS was unable to get out of the house by himself. The police were screaming on the radio that the couldn't get in the front, could someone get in the back? In a matter of minutes the house was engulfed and the man ended up dieing even though I heard the fire dept say on the radio that they'd found him. That was followed up by a request for an ambulance and a chaplin. How incredibly sad. Thank you God that my family is safe and well, even if OS doesn't want to rub elbows with us.

The sun is shining here today, the snow is melting some and my attitude is WAY better under those conditions. By Friday, it's supposed to be in the 50's. Bring it on! PC, no matter where you land for Christmas, I hope yours is as warm and sunny as mine is going to be! Remember, Santa said to leave the light on for him. Perhaps you could leave him a bottle or two of salad dressing or maybe the jelly out for him in lieu of cookies and milk?

I have to say, I've wrapped up several pending items on my desk today. Things are filed and finished and put away. My how that makes a girl feel good. I intend to be able to see the whole top side of my desk before I leave here on Friday! I have big ambitions don't I?

I picked some tags off the giving tree at job 2. One for a boy, age 8, and one for a girl, age 12. The boy only wanted a wallet. The girl a few beads. (Yes PC, beads!) I got both of those items and a gift card to go with them. How sad it made me to see those tags hanging there in hopes that someone, anyone would pick up an item or two. But how good it makes one feel to give a little. I hope no matter who they are, they have a very Merry Christmas.

There's been some discussion in the house about the unfinished projects son has started, beginning last August. Then there was more discussion about the upcoming construction. Please God, let him finish something. Anything. PLEASE! I promise I'll be good next year! Well, I'll try. And well, I'll try to explain about this year... Please O Please O Please!!! The projects left hanging are making me more nuts that I already was. Then, to watch him sit around after a hard days work (8-5) and play Play Station while I go to work job 2... burns my butt just a tad. I don't mind now and again, but HE started these things and BELIEVE ME, if I could finish them, I would! *sigh*

I saw my banker last night in job 2. I told him I wanted to go shopping for a different good, used car. I asked him "was the ok?" Mind you, my banker has been a good good friend of mine for probably 15 years. He asked if I was going to come home with a new Caddy? I told him no and said to go on ahead and shop. We both laughed and we went about our business. Another girl at job 2 asked me if he was kidding. I told her no and tried to explain that I don't owe any money, nore would I buy something I couldn't afford if I did owe money. She looked at me like I was speaking Greek. It's can't hurt you to have the president of your bank be your friend huh? :) When I was married and my husband spent more money than anyone could possibly make, I remember calling him and telling him that I wanted him to turn me down for a loan so my husband couldn't bury us any deeper in debt. He said he'd be GLAD to do that! How funny...

Ok, I guess I'd better get back to clearing the desk. Lord knows it's a big project, but there's light at the end of this tunnel!

I hope everyone is well and has their Christmas shopping done and wrapped. Have a super day ladies.

The heart remembers best what it loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-12-20
comment

Previous / Next