Post-Op and doing well

4 days post-op and I'm really feeling good. The soreness is wearing off except for having to caugh due to a dry spot from the breathing tube, or sneeze. Otherwise, the bruising looks much worse than it is. I can't believe it's finally done! I recommend it!

Hunky-dunky boyfriend is wonderful. He's made 3 unexpected trips to town this week while I had surgery and was in the hospital as well as when I got home. The more I know him, the more wonderful and amazing he is. I don't have any pictures of the two of us just yet, but he'll be here tomorrow and we'll see what we can do. Then I'll post some.

I've sat quietly for the 3 days since getting home. I finished an afghan and I'm quietly working on a quilt. I've also taken a few walks to the corner and back. I slept alot yesterday afternoon. Several hours. I find it hard to believe it was a major surgery since I don't feel like it. Well, other than being tired. But today, I've only had one nap.

I was down a total of 13 pounds last week. I'll be interested to weigh next week and see how my week off was. I have to admit, boyfriend brought me several suprise blizzards and I ate them, all of them, as well as a yummy chocolate malt. Yeah, I'm spoiled. He also sent me a Vermont Bear, delivered to me at home, dressed in a hospital gown with a chocolate bear attached and a note "hope you're feeling better." love you and miss you... hunky-dunky. He's also given me 2 different sets of flowers over the past 2 weeks. Dang, what did I do so right? :)

I had 5 pokes trying to get my IV started for surgery. I look like I've had the crap beat out of me. One of the pokes is really sore but the other ones are just for show. But wow, they sure look bad. The incision in my stomach is about 2" on the right side. It's black and blue too, but thankfully not too sore. I have a small poke hole on the left side and had a scope in the belly button. Really neither of them are sore either. But, my guts feel bruised on the inside. I haven't had or needed any pain meds since I left the hospital. I did take some tylenol for the first 24 hours of being home, but I've been off that since then. I can see how easy it would be to over-do.

I'm off from job 2 all next week yet. When I get back, I'll have 5 working days of job 2 left. Then I'm done. Boy does that make me happy. It's spring here, the weather has been beautiful for several days and I'm ready to be outside walking, etc. I SWEAR I'm going to get this blubber off if it kills me! I hear women say they gain weight after this surgery, I hope I don't follow suit.

Have a great weekend ladies!

� grizmom at
2007-03-23
comment

Previous / Next