Teenage Drivers

Long LONG L.O.N.G. gone are the days of teaching my son to drive. The tender age of 14 is gone gone gone, 8 years gone. But OS is now having the pleasure of teaching her youngest daughter to drive. She's had many MANY experiences with YD since this adventure started but this one just made me bust out laughing yesterday. And keep laughing still this morning. I can just see the sheer panic on OS's face hahaha! (Thelma is the AKA YD's nickname, AC is the school)

"Oh, my gosh! Thelma took me for a wild ride this afternoon. We were coming from AC towards home and I wanted to stop by the bank. Thelma didn't start slowing down so I said, "Thelma, blinker, slow down, left turn." We didn't slow down near, anywhere near, enough to turn so I am saying, "no, no, No, NO," but Thelma just cranked that wheel hard and turned anyway. I think we went around on two wheels and may have been air born for a brief time. I honestly thought we were going to go through the grass and up to the front door instead of in the driveway and around to the drive through. Just for future reference, me screaming no, no, no, doesn't mean give it more gas!!! It's a good thing I prayed this morning because (even though I was speaking Jesus' name), I don't think what I said in that car would be considered a prayer!"

So for all you folks that have yet to have to teach your sweet children to drive... ohmygosh good LUCK!

The new windows sure look nice. I just stand and look at them and can't believe the house repairs I've longed for are happening. The siding for the garage is here too and that's next weeks project for HD. Actually, it was his idea. But okey dokey, whatever you wanna do HD! :) I will be going to Sherwin-Williams to get the stain matched so the oak and the pine all stain and look like oak. That's my project for today. Then I can stain my little heart out this week and next weekend. The whole basement thing is slated to kick off the 2nd week of September now. It will be much cooler and hopefully son won't be meeting himself coming and going, like he is right now.

No further wedding plans have been made. We're just basking in the good things we have right now. I'm blissfully happy and my life is amazingly good! I definately never thought my life would be this way or that I'd truly have someone to share everything with. I'm one lucky chick. Thank you to all of you for the well wishes on our engagement. I still have to nearly pinch myself to make sure I'm not dreaming!

Tuesday is hair-do day. Thank goodness. I need a cut and color so badly. 20 year class reunion is in August so I need all the help I can get before that shin-dig.

Wednesday is National Ride Your Motorcycle To Work Day. Our plant manager is taking anyone with a motorcycle in our plant and/or their significant other on a jaunt around town and out for dinner. VVrrrooommmm VVVrrrooommmm

That's about all I know from here. I'd better get the coffee on and get the house cleaned up before HD gets home this afternoon.

Have a good one!

� grizmom at
2007-07-14
comment

Previous / Next