Is this my life??

The roofing is almost done! (humming to the tune of "How do you like me now!). See me dancing a jig like a big fat purple rhino complete with swinging hoola-hoop hip action. It's down to a little ridge cap and a few nails. I'll do the final yard type clean up tonight and whoooyahhh! Son has busted his hump and I'm so proud of him. Hopefully my Oldest Sister will now find something new to complain about. (for those of you who don't know, I rent my house from my now incapacitated Dad, who has his life now run by the nursing home and my oldest sister. OS and I have a HUGE HUGE love/hate thing going on. More hate than love.) Ok, enough of that.

Have you ever taken a good long look at your life and wondered what your purpose is supposed to be? Then do you run to the mirror to see if you have "STUPID" jotted across your forehead or "KICK ME" on your back side?

I'm tellin' ya - I can see why women become Nuns. I went on a date with a man I met online. We walked and talked for hours and hours. We ate ice cream in the park, fed the ducks, drove around town, we solved the problems of the world by the time I went home. (4:30 AM - yes, way passed my curfew! Son asked me the next morning if I had moved out. Wonder where he's heard that before?) It was left with some snuggly hugs and a few kisses and "I'll call you tomorrow." GEEeee... I'm sorry, I guess you meant the OTHER tomorrow. Why do men do that? I'm sure there are plenty of women who do it too, but I wasn't out with a WOMAN. Anyway, needless to say, he didn't "call you tomorrow." I'm disappointed as he seemed to be a very very nice man not to mention very handsome and loaded! (bonus!) I suppose it's possible that something came up - like sleep - or what have you.. but I'm seeing it as mere rejection. Then, Mr. C.H.A.R. (from previous writing) calls at 1 am on the night of the now M.I.A. "I'll call you tomorrow" - "whatcha doing?? he says." I'm still looking for the "FREE FOR YOU TO USE" that MUST be strategically located on some region of my purple-rhino-hip-swinging-how-do-you-like-me-now self.

And, my cell phone just rang - guess who?? Mr. "gonna call you tomorrow." WHAT IS THIS?? I didn't answer because I'm at work, but I did listen to the voice mail. "Just wanted to say hi, I'll try to call you at noon." WHAT???

Ok, have booked the business trip to NC. I'm still not liking it and I'm still whining about it, but I'm still going. My itenerary says airport to hotel 30/40 minutes, DEPENDING ON TIME OF DAY, and hotel to IR University 40/50 minutes, DEPENDING ON TIME OF DAY. In NE, it doesn't matter what the time of day is, you can get there in 10 minutes, depending on the time of day.

Little Sister took 300 of Dad's old paperback type war books to the VA home yesterday. They were thrilled to get them and very appreciative. She said it made her sick to her stomach as she walked away. She wanted to run back and get them. Dad will never read them again (especially since he's now reading his magazines upside down and is none the wiser) nor would he know what we said if we told him they were gone. I told her about being in the basement over the weekend and all of the sudden it was deafening silent and empty and I was bawling. I don't know how you prepare for all this.

Did I mention I didn't want to go on this business trip? Did I mention that I really do love my job, but I still don't wanna go but to keep the job I gotta go?? If anyone who reads this post knows where the *(^% I'm going (directions - GOOD directions), please drop me a line!

Am ANXIOUSLY awaiting the jewelry created just for me by Prettiest Cousin! Have been browsing the beading websites and magazines, yet to be bitten quite hard enough to buy. But, I WILL be needing something to occupy my spare time on the "don't wanna go" business trip. This could work.

Guess I should wrap this up and head to lunch. Did I mention I love my job? :)

Wishing everyone a super-duper day!

� grizmom at
2005-08-02
comment

Previous / Next