Friday's Are Great!

Oh the joy a Friday brings! Who cares if it's all cloudy and will probably pour buckets of rain on my jeans-wearing day?? I sure the heck don't for tomorrow will bring sleeping in and doing my own favorite things, like baking bread! HURRAY for Fridays!

It's been a weird, emotional week. Sympathy cards still coming in the mail everyday. It's so nice of so many people to think of us and care enough to send a card. Unfortunately, every single one of them has made me cry all over again. Then there's all the well wishers whom you meet along your day who are sincerely "so sorry" for our loss. There have just been so many of them. This is usually followed by a heartfelt hug which of course, makes me cry. I know I'd be upset to think that people didn't know and love Dad and us like this, but boy, this is just a bit overwhelming.

Things with OS have progressed to a steaming pile of sheep shit. (can you guess who's steaming and who's the pile of sheep shit? - SHAME ON ME!!) I have consulted my attorney and another appraiser for direction since OS is on her almighty I'm-in-charge power trip. I know there's a Will and it probably clearly spells out exactly what my Dad wanted done with his things, (even though we're not allowed to see it) but how many times do you hear how someone didn't follow it and nobody made them and someone got screwed over? Just how common of an issue is this and what can one do to protect yourself? I could care less about any amount of money or any "things" that Dad may or may not have had or left us, but I don't relish the thought of a financial screwing on the whole house-buying business by my own sister either. **sigh** Perhaps being sisters is just a technicality. Lord knows you don't treat your family that you know and love like this.

I paid the next to last college tuition installment today. Wow, I can't imagine not having that little payment hanging over my head anymore. That will sure be a nice thing. I really shouldn't complain. Son will be set when he graduates in May with his 2nd degree and left owing no money for all his education. That's got to be worth all this trouble doesn't it? Besides, he'll need both of those degrees to be able to afford my intentions of living off him!

I'm sporting yet another set of jewelry that Prettiest Cousin made for me. These are pretty little see-through blue flowery beads with smaller silver beads and silver everything. I just love them! They're whimsical and wonderful. I've had an offer to buy them from me. SOME PEOPLE GOT NERVE! Hell no you can't buy them right off me, but I'll tell you where you can get a set of your OWN! PEOPLE! hahaha I'm glad they're catching peoples eyes though and I'm happy to refer them to Prettiest Cousin! She's gonna make us both rich!

Ok, I'm in charge (in a nice way, unlike OS!) of the upcoming United Way/CHAD drive. I'm new to this and really want to do a good job. So, I'm begging for your thoughts and direction on how to campaign and increase our giving. How do I get new people to jump on the boat without threatening their lives? How do I get current givers to up their contribution without faking their signature on the paper? I'm totally open to your thoughts and direction. And, will y'all take up a collection for bail money should this not pan out so well??

Someone told us that if you plant the flower end of a rose, upside down, in the dirt, it will grow. Is that true? YS told me about it and since we have some roses from Dads service... that would be a really awesome thing to do with them before they're clear dead and there's nothing left. BUT, I don't want the neighbors to think I've completely come unwound by being out there planting near dead roses upside down in a dirt hole. Of course, they're probably expecting it.

Remember to dance the Friday jig and think happy weekend thoughts. Do something fun and wild this weekend - go ahead, we'll collect bail money for you!

Have a super weekend gals!

� grizmom at
2005-08-19
comment

Previous / Next