Bits N Pieces

Mother Nature's sense of humor is really starting to irritate me. What have all those folks done to deserve her wrath? I read it, I hear about it, I watch it, PC and her family are living it and it just breaks my heart. I do live in the absolute middle of nowhere, and I can't say that I'm sorry about that right now. I wish I knew what to do for all these people besides pray.

I have to tell ya Uncle Bob - he writes some funny shit. I don't care who you are, the gray pubic hair thing was just flat out hillarious! I went to get a hair-do and was telling my long-time beautician and friend the story and she follows it up with (mind you she fake-bakes) "I have small white lines under the bottom of my butt." "I don't remember ever having them before." "My ass is falling!" So - put that together with the graying pubs and wha-laa! There you have it. Everything of mine is falling except my bloodpressure, my age and my weight. Now, as for the gray - never really looked and don't plan to look anywhere that I can't see from the neck up!

I think OS and I have (thank you YS for mediating, probably against your will!) made our way to an agreement on the purchase of my house. That's really the very last thing pending before the wrapping-up of the estate I think. Yeah, there's a garage sale to be held and yeah, some things still need to be given to the VA, but everything else is pretty well done. I remember thinking as I left Dad's house on Sunday - wow, I'll probably never be back in here again. Deep breath, a few tears, a whisper "I love you Dad" as I stood in his bedroom and out the door I went into the big, scary world, with all the courage I could muster. (still makes me all teary) I still can't believe both Mom AND Dad are gone. What are we supposed to do now? Who are we supposed to be now? I feel a bit like the little kid that loses his parents in Wal-mart and the employees quickly gather information and call out a Code Adam! I want to cry, run, and with the frantic look on my face search for my parents until I find them again. *sigh*

The weather is strange here in the middle of nowhere. It was 95 here yesterday, not a cloud one to be found for miles. Today, it's windy and like 70. Is this Hurricane Gone North weather? Hard to say. It's nice to have it cooler but it's a bit scary to think about what it could cause here; like a tornado or something. Now granted, that'd still be better than ANYTHING the south has seen in the past month, but I could sure do without it.

The Flower Guy keeps calling, keeps emailing, keeps leaving voice messages!!! STOP!!! I told him AGAIN that this just isn't going to work out. Apparently in testosterone language that translates to "she wants me." He needs to learn a new language or he needs to learn how to translate better. This morning his burning question was " are you gonna be home this weekend?" (mind you that's a step up from "what's a feller gotta do to get in your britches?") HHhhmmmm let's think about this for a minute... NO! If you're coming over-HELL NO!! I fibbed and told him I was going out of town tomorrow and wouldn't be back until sometime on Saturday; then, I really DO have to work job 2 on Sunday. I feel bad about fibbing, but if he thinks for one damn second that I'll be home and/or available, he'll be here. I have a coffee date on Friday night with a writer for the local paper here. I don't need TFG trailing along. (see my eyes rolling?)

My song for today would have to be anything from the Pointer Sisters. Not really sure why, but they have the groove on, so why not?

I have called in the PROFESSIONAL dryer repair man. It takes 2 to 3 cycles to dry a batch of jeans or towels, or really anything for that matter. Tack that onto the ole air conditioning ridden utility bill for a few weeks now why don'tcha! He told us to try cleaning the vent, etc. before he had to come out. The AMATURES we are, we tried. Either we're too stupid to figure it out or the problem is the heating element. My vote's on the latter of the two. I don't care - JUST FIX IT!! That's about as irritating as my car not running, knock on wood! I'm looking way forward to the regular amount of run-time on a load of clothes. It just takes so little to make me happy huh?

Ok, I better do some work. Pray for all those folks in the south. Have a wonderful day. Tomorrows Friday!! YIPPY!!! Pick your songs ladies!

The heart remembers best what it loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-09-22
comment

Previous / Next