Gloomy Wednesday Weather

Hump-days gloomy weather has set in. It's been 50+ mph winds all morning and they're expected to continue through the afternoon. It's spitting some rain every so often too. The high today is supposed to be 64. It was 60 when I came to work at 8 this morning so I'm guessing the high is here.

I signed the papers on my house yesterday. It was a bitter sweet feeling for me. I'm thrilled to finally own my own home vs paying rent. I just wish it were that I still had my parents here too. The signing also means that I don't have to get OS blessing, thoughts, input or permission on anything I want to do at the house. It's mine and I can do with it as I choose. People say I'm lucky to have my house and have it paid for, etc, and I am, I know I am. But in my mind, it came with a pretty hefty price that I'd rather have not paid.

My very best friends son is getting married this weekend. It's an outside wedding and will be just gorgeous! PC, its my friend you made the key chain for. These two kids have dated since high school and are finally tieing the knot! They live and work in Colorado but are getting married here. I will even be sporting a skirt and high heels for the event. I'm a jeans, sweatshirt, tennis shoe kind of gal, so can't you just SEE this? :) Think Miss Congeniality! Best friend says my job is to keep her from killing the mother of the bride! hahaha Boy, nothing like a tall order when I'd love to give her a swift kick myself. It should be fun and it will be great to see best friends kids. They're just like an extention of my own family.

I've been working on a quilt for YS since last year - for Christmas - last year. I've been faithfully working on it lately and there's hope for Christmas - this year! :) I finished the top over the weekend. Last night, we laid the whole thing out with the batting and backing and pinned it all together. I'll tie it by hand now and we'll be down to the binding and it'll be done! But -- last night as we're on our hands and knees pinning this bad boy (8'x10'), YS dog, Chocolate, decides that he just can't stand my pony tail. He attacks my head, grabbing at my pony tail and trying to tear it out. I had a clip holding the pony tail in vs an elastic tie so he couldn't get it out which sent him over the edge. He pawed and growled at my head, slowly pulling strands/clumps of my hair down from the pony tail. YS and I laughed until we cried and our guts were hurting so bad. When I finally broke free and got up, YS cracked up again, even harder, and told me I looked dishoveled and like I'd just climbed out of the back seat of a car! hahaha I told her I had seen a book called the Quilt Story. Hense.. we'd need to write the history behind our quilt! :) I'm sure her neighbors were wondering what the heck the problem was as were just whaling in there on the floor. I bet we were a real sight to behold.

Son brought me a book of windows and doors so I could do some looking and picking out for my home re-do project. I marked things with sticky notes and wrote some ideas and thoughts down. He didn't care for the majority of my choices. I guess I'm back to the drawing board. I told him I'm probably have to just go to the store and see them, touch them and smell them to be able to pick them out. He just rolled his eyes at me. I KNOW he's just thrilled as pig-poo to think he's got the remodel job ahead of him! :) I told him "that's why I had you."

I will need to do some landscaping too. I don't know boo about it, nor do I have much desire to do it, other than I really do want a yard and house that look well kept and easy on the eyes. I think I'll look at some rose bushes, tulips, daisys, things like that. But NO bushes. I don't want anything that requires me to trim them up all the time. What are your favorites ladies, and what's easiest to keep up? Lay it on me!

PC, I'm almost out of sewing to do. I think I'll start the photo quilt for Aunt Willy next. It'll take me a good 6-8 or 15 months to get it done. But I MUST have a project or I'll eat instead! What's your take on the color scheme? Colored pictures or black & white? Tell me, tell me, tell me!

The Flower Guy has called again. He's really a nice enough fella, but I have no desire to have this relationship with him. He asked me if I needed some flowers. Uhhh, no. Did I need him to do something for me? Uhhh, no. Did I want him to come down and cook for me this weekend? Uhhh, no. Have I not made it perfectly clear that I'm not interested? Have I mislead him in ANY way, shape or form? I don't think so. Guess I'm gonna have to muster up some guts and be a little more assertive. I hate that. It makes me feel bad and I'm pretty sure he's gonna be greatly offended by it too.

Friday is inventory day here. I've been warned that people get really ugly before it's over. I'm just looking SO forward to that. Everyone stays until everything balances. Maybe I'd better bring my pillow and just wear my jammies. I'm having a hard time guessing how this will all go. They did say that we could bring food for the big event. Maybe if I bring some comfort food everyone will just simmer down. I can hope.

Ok, off to lunch. Tacos today and my stomach is growling!

Have a great day ladies!

The heart remembers best what it loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-09-28
comment

Previous / Next