To Heat or Not To Heat?

Isn't it just wonderful when you wake up and it's Friday? You know tomorrow is Saturday and you can sleep.in. That in itself makes it worth while to get up on Friday!

It'll be a cooking weekend. We're doing a cooking for co-workers thingy here at job 1. One of the gals out with breast cancer has 2 small children at home. She's a single Mom and one of the "small children" is a baby. Anyway, we're whipping up some ready-to-eat meals for them. The delivery date for all the baking is Monday. My meal plan is homemade crescent rolls, country pumpkin muffins, Monte Cristo and tuna & noodle casserole. I'm making myself hungry just mentioning that!

We turned on the furnace last night. Much to our dismay, it blew only cold air and refused to turn off. Son finally went to the basement and turned off the breaker. We called the repair man and he came out this morning. He has to order parts so we're stuck with no heat until Monday or Tuesday. Wouldn't you know as soon as I buy the house, something goes south? Welcome to owning your own home huh? Oh well, it's still better than paying rent.

A former co-worker from a place I used to work, which is across the street from where I work now, has been meeting me at lunch time for a 30 minute jaunt around the industrial park. That sure has been nice. It's good to see and talk to her, but it's good to be outside and moving. I haven't made it to Curves, but I'm not sitting on the couch either. Guess that's a start.

I'm usually real good at watching dates and knowing when bills need to be mailed, etc. Well, until today. I find my almost-paid-off credit card bill in the rack. The due date is Tuesday, in Texas. I'll be sending that little baby overnight express instead of paying a late charge! Darn, I was doing so good too! I hate it when I fall off the wagon!

Son just stopped in and brought me a chicken sandwich! What a sweet young man! I can nibble my sandwich at my desk and still make the walk with the lady from across the way!

I don't know what I'll do besides cook this weekend. My quilting is done and I'm out of projects. I do have the yarn to start an afghan for my room, I might could start that. But, as much as I hate to admit it, I've really been enjoying the sewing. My Mother would just be hee-hawing at that statement! And actually, I find myself giggling at it too... who'd have ever thought?

Can you believe it's like only 2 1/2 months til Christmas? Where has the year gone? It feels like I've been in a whirlwind the past few months. Now that things have slowed down a bit I'm shocked to see that the year is all but gone. The older I get the faster the days seen to go. Why is that? I don't really know, but I wish I could slow them down.

Ok girls, I better wrap it up and get ready for the walk. (I've eaten my sandwich!) Have a super weekend!

The heart remembers best what it loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-10-07
comment

Previous / Next