Flour is NOT for sniffing!

What a fun time of year. Despite all the bad and sad things that have gone on recently for everyone, there is so much to be thankful and happy about. Lord help me to keep my attitude in check and my mind clearly focused on these things!

I had made plans to bake Christmas cookies with YS and her daughter today. When they got here she asked if I would mind just watching daughter since Santa and Mrs. Claus really needed to do some shopping. Of course I don't mind. So, we started baking.. we made Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies that you roll and cut. Well, niece was having so much fun just playing with a pile of cookie dough and flour, I didn't care how big of a mess she might have made. BUT... (still cracking up!) She makes this big ole pile of mohawk looking styled flour and decides to smell it. SHE.FREAKED.OUT! hahaha She now had a nose full of flour. She started to cry and said "I don't know what to do with my nose!!!" "Call my Mom!!!" We tried but Mrs. Claus was happily shopping. So, we blew her nose first. I think she snuffed in way more than we will ever get out. Then we got a warm, wet washcloth and tried to settle it all down with that. Needless to say - this hasn't been too successful. I shouldn't be laughing but it was just hysterical! Niece has been sitting on the couch watching Frosty and telling my 2 dogs what happened to her today. They're looking at her like "look chick, just hand over a cookie!" Mrs. Claus finally called back and she laughed too. Niece seems to be fine and back to her old jumping on the couch self. Thank goodness! I asked her if she had a headache. She told me "I have no idea." What a riot! hahaha

The weather man hasn't had anything good to say about the impending weather here. Should start snowing and blowing snow by 7pm tomorrow. This will continue through 6am tomorrow. Yeah - at 6am, the blowing will just stop?? I doubt that! It'll probably blow the rest of the day so I'll lose my car in a snowbank. The snow isn't such a horrible thing as long as there's no ice. The weather man didn't say anything about any ice and he'd better not either. He's delivered enough bad news for one weekend!

Son and his fiance went to sons fathers again this weekend. That's 3 weekends of peace in a row. I'm kinda getting used to it and really starting to like it! The house stays all picked up and straightened up while they're gone. Very few dishes are used or sitting around. hmmmm Shame on me for liking it so much but I sure do.

YS and I went shopping on Black Friday. I didn't know at the time, but she'd NEVER EVER been out shopping the day after... So, I drug her to Walmart even though that wasn't where we intended to go. I was appolled to learn (from my friend who's an asst. manager there - not in our town) that there was a customer who wanted a laptop but they were all gone. Customer kicked or hit (can't remember) the associate in the stomach and she is pregnant. Good thing I didn't see it, I'd have needed bail money. What's wrong with people?? When we left Wally's there was an ambulance there, hopefully just for precautionary measures. I don't know what happened to the jerk-customer. Hopefully he's on tape and they can nab him like the losers he is!

We went on to JoAnn Fabrics. OH.MY.GOSH! I spent like $59 in there on material. Everything was like 70% off so figure up how much I saved. I did good! THEN... we went into Hobby Lobby. Dang that store! I spent another $100 in there on Christmas material! GEEZE!!! YS said Mom is up in Heaven saying "you go girl!" I doubt that. I'm sure it's more like "hey Dad, she's lost her mind! The aliens really did a number on her!" I got a phone call from Son who wanted to know if I had spent all my money. I told him not yet, but that was before Hobby Lobby. He'll have to add a big fat closet for material to his handy-dandy Mama's to do list. He'll just roll his eyes and shake his head. I did buy some Rudolph material though. Remember the old movies from our childhood like Rudolph, Frosty, Chris Kringle, etc. There's like a set of 4? Anyway, those are sons most favorite movies and the material has all of them on it. I'll make him a Christmas quilt out of it. He'll forget all about how much he hates my to-do list! :)

I'm watching 50 First Dates. They're at the Hookie Lau Cafe and he's telling her he can't read. What a dork and for a chick who can't remember squat, she sure falls for his bull. hahaha It's a sweet movie and who wouldn't want a man who makes you fall in love with them all over again every day?? Anyway, it's my kind of movie and it's been on a lot this weekend.

I went to the doc on Wednesday. We had the "are you through having babies" talk followed up by the "need to lose weight" talk. Good grief! Yes, been done having babies for years. Yes, I'm fat and I know I need to lose weight, so tell me something I don't know. He talked about portion control. Yeah, duh... again, tell me something I don't know. We talked about exercise.. he must take me for a real blonde vs. real gray! I know he's right and I know I'll feel so much better if I can just get some of this off... The local YMCA/Champions here opens at 5 am and has many more options than Curves. I'll be checking into that. I found a co-part to go with me if I do it. Then we'd be able to swim and they have an indoor walking track too besides all the work out machines, etc. I don't think it matters where I go, I just need to do it and have a partner that will hold me accountable. PC, can you just move here??? I know you'd be up to that challenge!

Santa and Mrs. Claus just called and they're almost home. They want to know if I want to go to the steak house. DUH!! Yeah.. pick me up on your way by! They have awesome steak and salad bar. Moo Moo to me!

Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving and are enjoying your weekend.

The heart remembers best what it loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-11-26
comment

Previous / Next