Graduation or Strangulation...

Oh my... what a weekend. Son and fiance graduated from college on Saturday. I had planned and planned and the celebration was set. Fiance isn't a girly girl but rather a tom boy. So, we did some girly girlying before graduation complete with girly shoes and a skirt. She was thrilled about her achievement and she should have been. The gym opened at 2pm and friend K and I were there at 1:45. We marched into the gym and found the ideal seating for lighting, pictures, etc... we were set! The kids did their practice in and out of the gym and were free for like 30 minutes til graduation started. At about 20 minutes til 3, fiance comes sobbing to me in the gym. Sobbing. Like body shaking sobbing. Tears all over the place. And son is flaming, raging red in the face. Fiance's parents called her to say they wouldn't be coming. They'd have to go buy new clothes to come, so they were just going to watch it on tv. WTF??? Excuse me??? You're not coming?? You live here in town and you're not coming??? Son grabbed her phone and told them somebody had better get their F*C&ING @SS's out there and hung up. Fiance cried all the way through graduation, thinking that her parents didn't come. Finally, when we went to take pictures, there was her pathetic excuse of a mother. They didn't so much as give her a hug or a card.

On another note, Thursday evening, sons dad called to say he would be working instead on Saturday and wouldn't be coming either. HELLO HELLO, CALLING ALL STUPID PARENTS!!!!! YOU DON'T GET TO DO THIS OVER!!!! MY GOD PEOPLE!

I can barely stand the wait to see how the wedding goes after all this. I told my friend K that her job is and will forever be to keep me from killing somebody. She told me I'd have to take a number!

After all that, I was pooped. Emotionally drained. I tollerated them at the "celebration" that ended up not much of a celebration given the events leading up to this... but, we tried to make the best of it. Fiance said to me "at least I knew you'd be here." Son was full of hugs and kisses and thank yous to me for everything, always. Hey all you stupid, pathetic excuses for parents.. that's worth way more than any of you deserve or will ever get!

I'm really sorry for my really bad disposition and my crabbiness, but I have no use for people who use their children as pawns in life or who don't support them in their efforts and achievements. NO use. And with God as my witness, when I get fiance's parents alone, I'm gonna let them have it.

With that said, I'm in full wedding mode now. Invitations are pretty much lined out and ready for printing. Center pieces, well we're gathering the pieces and parts and working on them. Cake is a go. Minimal decorations have been decided on though. I don't think anything at the reception but centerpieces, bells and bubbles. Do I need more??

OS's daughter graduated from Oral Roberts U in Tulsa on Saturday. Sounds like it was awesome and she did great! I'm so glad but I'm sorry I couldn't be there for it. I can't wait to see pictures!

Ok, I had better get some work done. I've spent most of the day brewding over the whole graduation thing which has gotten in the way of my working thing.

Have a great week ladies.

� grizmom at
2006-05-08
comment

Previous / Next