Wedding Update

It's all about the wedding in our house. And out of our house, spilling into best friend K's house and OS's house and YS's house. Notice no mention of Bride's parents house or Groom's father's house??? Yeah, don't get me started. OS has offered to assemble the invitations by folding and stuffing maps as well as RSVP cards and all that jazz. Bless her heart! That helps SO much. I gave her all the postage I had collected over the weeks and a check for the balance, since she works at the post office, she said she'd just pick up what else I needed. But today, she was concerned when she got them together that they were indeed over the 39 cent stamp poundage. She had one weighed and indeed, I owe another .23 per invite. The postage alone is killing me!

Now, we can't buy instant tapioca pudding for the salad. That's right, only cook'n'serve is available. That means cooking and cooling 24 boxes of freakin' tapioca pudding to make this salad. If I hadn't already bought all the other ingredients, we'd be having a different salad! I wonder if instant vanilla pudding would work? I could always just cook up a batch of the "tapioca" itself without the pudding and toss it in. Maybe.

With the invites about ready to go, but basically off my plate courtesy of OS's family, I'm onto the mass of pork that needs to be cooked. That's this weekends project. Cook, shred and freeze. Cook, shred and freeze. Cook, shred and freeze. Sounds like a Glad commercial doesn't it?

In the midst of this meaningless whining, two good friends at job 1 is anticipating the death of their mothers. (not related) One has cancer really really bad and they're just trying to keep her comfortable. Boy do I remember those gut-wrenching words. The others mother is 90 and and suffered a stroke Saturday night, and 2 more since then. Another chain of events that makes me cry. I hate all this for the both of them. And PC, still just devistated from the unexpected loss of her brother. I hate that for her too. Yesterday was the day my own Mom passed away, 15 years ago. **sigh**

I've also been working on cleaning out my garage so we can tear it down and build a new one. It was much harder on my emotions than I would have thought to load up Dad's things. Things he hadn't used in 15+ years I'd bet. Old camping things, cots, coolers, well shoot, I can't hardly remember going fishing or camping, but he has all the stuff. Not to mention all the old luggage that my folks had. The old blue flowered suitcase that made countless trips to Dalton to see Grandma & Grandpa K. The silver metal type suitcase that made a ga-zillion trips to Arizona to see Grandma L, you know, the one that the handle had broken on so being the cheapy he was, he stuffed a nail through the handle and bent it over so it would work. LOL Cracks me up!!! But sad none the less to have to move those things and know he left them right there.

OS's daughter, the college grad, had a reception yesterday. OS made a fruit dip that was out of this world! It's fantastic! Fruit or no fruit! I know it had brown sugar in it, but I can't remember what else. Anyway, she had some fruit on an old plate that was one of Moms. Talk about the blast from the past. It's white with a faded rose on it. Son said all we were missing were the small green saucers that went with them. OS said she just can't bring herself to throw it away. I don't blame her. I'm in that same boat. I know it's only a stupid plate, but it was Mom's plate. And it's the only one we have left. I've seen some of Moms corning ware at YS's house. I don't know if she uses it or just keeps it around because. But it's nice to see it sitting there anyway.

I think I'm down to needing to buy disposable cameras and pork and that'll pretty much finish up all the "buying" of stuff. I have to pay a few things like the bar, minister, dj, and the fruite for the chocoalte fountaing, but otherwise, things are about done. I hope. I've managed to not dip into any monies other than what I had in savings. I'm suprised. I've been watching my pennies very closely and it's paying off I think. I might have to dip into some for Jamaica. I had no idea when I decided to go that I'd be footing the whole damn wedding instead of it being a shared expense between all the parents. The kids are paying for the rest of the chocolate fountain rental and the flowers. So, they've dished out a total of probably $1000+ of their own money. Pretty good for a couple of college kids just getting started.

I wore my new boots. You know, the ones I bought for this galla event. I wore them to work at job 2 on Monday last week. Big mistake. HUGE. I haven't been able to wear anything but sandals since then. Blisters on both heals til hell won't have it. I think I could maybe wear a shoe on my left foot now, but not this right one. Not yet. I may never get these darn things broke in!

I'm getting new internet service and a dish tomorrow. Dish, like cable, but on a dish? Whatever you call it, satelite maybe? Anyway, can't wait to see that! The internet is just internet. But the tv -- :) yeah! I haven't had cable in my room for probably 8+ years. But I'll have it tomorrow! It'll be in the living room and the kids room, and with the whole internet, cable/satelite and house phone, we're still saving over $40/month. Amazing!

Ok, that's about all the info I have. If you're not busy and want something to do, come on over and choose off the Wedding To Do List!

� grizmom at
2006-06-26
comment

Previous / Next