Happy Holidays!

The holidays have about come and gone. I hope you've all had a wonderful holiday season and you've made many wonderful memories. Happy New Year to each of you as well. May the good Lord keep you and walk beside you as you start anew.

Now on to the gossip...

Daugher-in-law is now known as "Pouty Pants." She's moped around here and pouted around here for a week. Really for no reason that son and I can figure out other than she's had to work more this week than son and I have. So son and I have hung out, shopped and worked on home improvement things together. Pretty good reason to be so damn pouty?? I think NOT, and I'll tell ya, I'm sick to death of it. I just want to bust her right in her pouty little face.

We didn't get near the rotten weather that Denver has gotten, but we've gotten enough ice and wind to make me boo-hoo. I'd bet a good 3/4" layer of ice on everything from trees and roads to my windshield. Last night after we were all snuggled in bed, the neighbor came knocking - pounding - on the front door. I sprung out of bed to find Pablo on the porch yelling for my son to move his truck and trailer as the tree was broken! WHATTTT???? Broken??? I yelled like the house was on fire for son to get down stairs. He came running, throwing clothes on as he ran.

We all dawned our coats and shoes and headed outside. A few young men from down the street came running too as they'd seen the tree limb hanging over sons rig as they were driving by. Of course the trailer wasn't hooked up to the truck, and of course, the hitch and lock and whatnot were frozen solid with ice. As the wind blew you could hear the tree creeking and cracking and hear the ice breaking and falling. Son and the young men pounded and beat on the whatchamacallits until the ice gave way and he could hook up and make a run for it. Our streets here in smallville are lined with trees in most places, so where to go? He ended up taking a cruise around town to see what he could see and then parking at my friend K's house. Thank GOD she doesn't have any trees. Needless to say, it's no better today and with an added layer of snow, it just stinks. The wind is blowing about 30 mph too. Oh joy.

Sometime in the night last night, that big limb came down. Thank goodness it belongs to the neighbor! :) There's still another big broken one up there that hasn't gave way just yet, but I'm sure if this wind keeps up, it'll be down by morning too.

Many towns around here don't have any power and won't have for another day or even 2. Can you say brrrr???

I haven't worked job 1 or 2 since the 21st. And let me tell ya, I've enjoyed that tremendously! Especially job 2. I'm really ready to go back to job 1 but job 2... I wish I just had the guts to quit. Give my notice, serve my 2 weeks and split. But I don't. I would just feel much better if I had a couple bills paid down or paid off before I made that big jump.

We have a new addition to our little family flock. Welcome Benelli aka Slippers. A chocolate lab pointer. She's about 10 weeks old now I suppose and she's something. She's sweet and all but she's the pits too. After finally having been whooped enough she's catching on to the potty training. Usually. But today she peed on my new couch. I about came unwound. The other 3 dogs in the house have little use for her just yet. And the black lab outside doesn't know what to think but sure doesn't enjoy sharing his food bowl with her. Should be interesting.

The holiday junk food is about gone from this house and believe me, it's none too soon. If I ate about one more damn dipped pretzel, I'd turn into one.

The weather's crappy so we'll be staying in for New Years. I wish you the very best wherever you are. Be safe, have fun and see you next year!

� grizmom at
2006-12-31
comment

Previous / Next