Job 2 - The End

And so the many years of job 2 came to an end. I faced yesterday with mixed emotions about that. I liked my job, I LOVED my people. But that place... I just couldn't stomach it anymore. I had cards and thank yous and cake and well wishes and tears and hugs and everything you can think of tonight. I'll miss the people but I'll visit them. I jotted a note on the board in the back room - "Store 1460 Associates - thank you for everything from the friendship to the laughter. I'll miss you. See you on the outside!"

With that, I cleaned out my locker, turned in my keys and was free. Free to do what I want every single evening and weekend. Free to not plan my life 3 weeks in advance of the schedule being made. Free.

It will be incredibly weird to not go there tonight. I've worked the same days and shifts for 7 years. And tomorrow, I can just stay home in the evening and do whatever suits me. Weird.

All my favorite customers that I'll no longer see and didn't say "goodbye" too... that's kind of sad. I had so many that I really enjoy. From small little kids that remember me every time, to elderly folks who enjoy visiting for just a moment, and eveyrone in between.

So begins my new life... MY life. My life to share with myself, my family, my friends, and my hunky-dunky. My very own life. Haven't had one of those in a long long time.

� grizmom at
2007-04-12
comment

Previous / Next