On the wagon again

I can't really believe it's been 18 days since I posted. Where have I been?

I have a few things to report! :)

DIL is being treated for Adult ADD. And OHMYGOSH, what a world of difference it has made. I was leaving her a note each day of chorse to do. And if they weren't done by the time I got home from work, and I had to do them, she owed me $20 for each chore. I warned her that she couldn't afford me. Needless to say, I never had to do a chore, AND, I don't even have to leave a note anymore. Son and her are getting along MUCH better too. She's a busy beaver around the house. Cleaning, doing laundry, picking up. The general things most people do without being told to. And she's pleasant, carries on a conversation and has even taken the initiative to plan a few meals. Although she's no cook, she tries and she asks for help. AMAZING! Speachless is really how it's left me most days. I make sure to tell her how great the house looks or what a nice job she did, etc. Positive reinforcement, right?

HD update. He's wonderful. :) He just does the sweetest thing and says the sweetest things all the time. I've really taken a step back and looked for those GLARING red flags I missed the last time around and honestly, they're really not there. He thinks he's the lucky one, when in all honestly, I'm the lucky one.

He tried to amputate a finger a few weeks ago but it's mending up real nice. We're in wedding stuff up to our eyeballs. Trying to make plans and decisions while he's on the road really bites. But he's like most grooms, NID.(not into details) Whatever I want, that's what he wants. How sweet. All he cares about is that his son can be there and I have whatever my heart desires, oh yeah, and I marry him. Gee, pretty tuff to take, but count me in. We're planning a Unity Sand ceremony vs the traditional Unity Candle ceremony. Our flowers will be Daiseys and Lilacs. I've been on the hunt for a couple songs. I haven't quite decided for sure, but I have a couple in mind. I asked YS to help me design the wedding invitations in a "scrapbook" style. I'm not a scrapbooker by any stretch of the imagination but she is! :) And if she can set me up, I might be able to put them together. I'm gonna try anyway. It's got to be better than the bazillion plaster of paris cowboy boots we made for sons wedding, right!

I've been riding my new bicycle, the one HD bought me. About 20-35 minutes a day. Almost every day. I have also broke down and gotten my fat self back on the bowflex again. A trainer from a neighboring town YMCA gave me a "training plan" for cardio and strength training. She was very happy to help and she said she'd get me looking "hot" for my wedding! Boy am I counting on that! :) She did recommend a book about food called Eat-Clean Diet by Tosca Reno. She said it's good reading. It has some good suggestions on how to get healthy foods and water into your diet. I'm hopeful. I dunno if I'm gaining or losing anything but I'm at least a little bit hopeful.

I've done some Christmas shopping. HD is about wrapped up. I'm getting the kids a low-end laptop. I dunno what HD will get his boy. He's a poor college student and all... :)

That's about all I know for now. Hope y'all are doing well. Lizzy, we miss you and we're thinking about you.

� grizmom at
2007-10-17
comment

Previous / Next