Can't Imagine

To all my hurricane-bearing friends -- Lord Have Mercy! I can't imagine what y'all have been through. I can't imagine the devistation and loss. I just can't imagine. Please know that everyone here in the absolute middle of nowhere is praying for all of you.

No matter what's happening or not happening in my life, it's all been put into perspective after watching the news about the hurricane. My belongings aren't destroyed and my family is safe and sound. Prettiest Cousin, I'm banking on you and your family having left dodge before this hit. No matter what riff with OS is going on, or the fact that my parents have now both passed or the fact that I'm tired and whiney from working 2 jobs --- none of that really seems to matter anymore.

As many of you know I recently started a new job - WHICH I LOVE - I might add. I'm doing alot of the PR type things in my new job - which I'm enjoying. My latest idea is to host a Child I.D. day here in the industrial park where we're located. There are about 6 large companies in the park here and almost everyone either has children or grandchildren. It just struck me this morning when I was on my way to work and passed by a local elementary schoolbus loaded for bear with little kids. I just think you can't be too careful or too prepared. My son is grown and times have changed so much since he was young, is there anything else any of you with small children can suggest we do to be proactive?

I also want to head up a "college survival" ideal. We have several families here who have either a child or grandchild that's off to college. I'm thinking that we should create a survival box for those students. Having been out of college for YEARS - like LIGHT YEARS - I can't even get my head around what they might need these days. So, what are your thoughts about this idea and what would you include in a survival box?

I'm quite happy to report that I have a 4 day weekend this week! YEP IT'S TRUE - not working either job! I went so far as to take Thursday evening off job 2 also! Hurray for me! Plans were to go to Colorado, but with the 10 million bucks/gallon on gas, I think I'll be staying around home. Son and his fiance will be gone so the mountian of possibilities is just endless!

I can't think of another thing to brag about, so with that in mind.. everyone take care, be safe and pray for those stricken by the hurricane.

The heart remembers best what it loved the most...

� grizmom at
2005-08-30
comment

Previous / Next