No Quilting Weekend...

The weekend came and went. Remember me saying I was going to quilt and lay on the couch? Do you think that really happened? Saturday, a co-worker and I got together to make salsa. We had no clue how many tomatoes were in a "bushel." OH.MY.GOD! We foolishly asked for 4 bushels. THANK.GOD. the people only had 2 bushels and that her husband couldn't have fit 4 bushels in his car! We'll have tomatoes and salsa until hell won't have it! We made 2 huge batches of salsa and have 6 gallons of blanched tomatoes for another huge batch or two. What WERE we thinking? She had tomatoes between her toes, not to mention that we squirted and dripped them all over her kitchen. I ended up with a jalapeno in my eye. We laughed and laughed and LAUGHED! I finally collapssed after a quick shower at about 8:30 Saturday night. Still today, my fingernails are orange from the tomatoes. I did dig some nice, dried up hunks of tomato out of my ring. How gross...

On Sunday, OS, YS and I all met at Dad's house at 10am. We managed to make our way through everything - top to bottom, inside and out. The absolute worst thing was when we dumped out the 2 boxes of things packed up at the nursing home from the night he passed away. His clothes came tumbling out and YS and I just cried. OS just stood there looking at us like "what's wrong with you?" Either she's really cold hearted or she's just been working with it all so much that she's numb. I'd like to think the latter of the two, but really think it's the first one. Anyway, after that, we went through his tools and things in the basement. That wasn't near as bad. 90% of it was just old books such as The Electrical Code Book of 1965. GOOD LORD!!! That's older than ME by a few years! Did he NOT EVER throw anything away? Alot of it will just be pitched. The tools, well, we picked out what we all wanted or could use but there's more. MUCH MORE. There must be 90,000 screw drivers, 50,000 cordless screw guns. WHO KNOWS if they work or not? 10,000 saws of all types, again, do they all work?? And more and more... there's no way to possibly use or need everything he's got down there. So, think we've opted for a basement sale. Hopefully the right people will be attracted and those things will mean something to the right people. Heaven knows we're clueless on much of it! I did keep a long sleeved dickey shirt of Dad's. I just had to. I'm sure one day I'll look back at it and wonder what the heck was wrong with me, and I'll wonder why in the world I kept that.. but I just had to for right now.

After we got home and put away the stuff from Dads, mostly, I had to cut up all the left over things that go into the salsa that we will make again. So by the time I got that done, and a shower - it was lights out for me. I don't think I hardly even turned over last night. Then, my alarm didn't go off this morning. Thank goodness the dogs needed out about 6:45! I'd STILL be sawing logs!

The Flower Man (who'd been kicked to the curb a couple weeks ago) keeps calling.. "hey baby..." (see me rolling my eyes and thinking please, stop, yes, please stop - really.) He's all excited to get back to town to see me. He's sure he can find a job around here and stay put and he'll convince me to marry him and we'll buy a nice house or have my son build us one and... WHAT??? What part of "see ya 'round" didn't I explain in small enough words??? Then it was "do ya need me to send ya some more flowers?" HELLO?? Are you listening to me?? No, no damn flowers, no moving to town, no no no! It's not scary, it's more like friggin' irritating as shit! Maybe he's not the sharpest tool in the drawer? I don't know, but he's peevin' me off!

Needless to say, after all that, there was no quilting. **sigh** But, never fear, I WILL quilt again! :) When we were rummaging through Dad's house we found Mom's old sewing desk in the garage. My sisters may have known it was there but I sure didn't. We pilfered through all that, laughing and remembering when. There are tons of old patterns in there - what do you do with them? I thought and thought about that desk last night when I got home. I really want it. I REALLY REALLY want it. I don't have a place for it right now, but I will have. (trying to talk myself into it) I finally emailed OS this morning asking if I can take it - I'll take it full of everything, just as it sits, I don't care. (full, did I say full? as in over flowing, can't hardly open and shut the drawers full?? oh yeah -- it is!) Son just sighed when I told him I wanted it and he'd get the pleasure of helping me with that. (see me batting my eyes, trying to charm him?) He'll do it, cause he loves his Mommy. (and because I said so, and I'm the payer of the tuition, and the crown wearer and the boss...)

After all that, I'm pooped. I need a weekend. And of course this weekend is my weekend to work. Boo hoo to me. Can I possibly call in as not interested? I want to.

Ok, enough whining about my life and my lack-of-quilting weekend. PC, I hope Aunt Willy is ok. I've sure been thinking about her. If there's something we can send from here let me know. Can you give me a mailing address for her at your brothers? I'll at least drop her a card.

Have a super-duper week ladies!

The heart remembers best what it loved most.

� grizmom at
2005-09-19
comment

Previous / Next