Ohhhh the weekend!

I had yesterday off both jobs. Why is it that when you're supposed to be enjoying a "day off" you work harder than you usually do? I swear, I must have done 3 or 4 loads of the kids laundry, oh yeah, and there's more where that came from. I got groceries, I finished Christmas shopping, I wrapped all the presents, I started baking Christmas cookies and candy, I ran the dishwasher and I went to the backer-cracker. I..I..I..I'm pooped!

Today will be filled with more baking, exchanging one Christmas thing that is broken and pickup up the house. AND, company Christmas party tonight. So much for the weekend off huh?

It actually broke 30 degrees here yesterday. I even saw some melting on the streets and sidewalks. I hate that slush-spit all over your car-stuff just as bad as the original snow and ice. I'm just never happy. I can't run my wipers enough to keep the gook off my windshield so I can see where the next car or the ditch is. I hate that. whaaa whaaaa whaaaaaaaa

I had a check up appt with the backer cracker on Tuesday. I was feeling actually pretty good and really weighed the thought of not going. But, wanting to be all better from all this stuff, I figured I'd better. So, he does a check of my spine and makes a couple small adjustments with the cattle prod/tasery thingy and I'm on my may. He said I'd be F.I.N.E. Uhuh, sure, that's what they all say. Tuesday night and Wednesday I hurt so damn bad I thought I'd broke a hip. Thursday was really no better. So, I call'em up yesterday morning explaining my problem and my pain. When I get there, he says "what did you do??" I looked at him and said "what did I do? what did YOU do?" I explained I was fine on Tuesday before I got there and had been in worse pain than ever since I left. I had 2 vertibre out in my lower back/hip area. So, he cattle prodded/tasered me all up again and sent me packing. He doesn't seem to think I'll need to come back unless I'm not feeling better. Lucky for him, I'm feeling better. Somehow I doubt that appointment was a free-b one.

When I have the chance to be home alone, I tend to play my music rather loudly. So, I cranked up the ole Christmas music yesterday and was baking, etc around the house. I was singing like I was Aretha Franklin in concert and dancing like I was on stage with Janet Jackson. (first clue that my back was better huh?) My poor dogs, they just go lay in the bedroom out of shear embaressment. They know they can't stop me and they just pray to GOD that nobody can hear or see me. Once in awhile, like between songs or when the cd changes, they poke their heads out to see if it's over. I can just imagine what they're thinking as they head back to the far side of the bed. Where they can't see me. I imagine their little doggy communication is all about how mommy has lost it.. she's nuts.. needs help... LOL They're so funny. I figure since my sisters and I grew up in this house, there's probably not much I could do that would suprise any neighbors. Most of them have been here for the duration. They've seen it all! :)

YS and I were again talking about the list of 100 things from our childhood. That'll crack us up everytime. And it did. One of the other things that tied into the "don't go to the doctor thing" was that my Dad had a huge radial arm saw in the basement. Well, on more than one ocassion, he tried to amputate a limb or two. But, YS seen one of the attempts and begged and pleaded with him to please please see the doctor. No, he saw Mom. They bandaged him up, patched him up, duct taped him up (who knows...) and that was that. GOOD LORD!! What was wrong with these people that I loved so much?? :) Then there was the car. Near new when we got it, probably 1970-something Red Gran Tornino Station Wagon, with wood panels. It was a tank. And, might I add, it survived all 3 girls learning to drive. We had that baby until about 2 years after I graduated from high school, which was 1987. The funniest things we can remember about that car was that the horn would just go off. And stick that way. My parents were NOT mechanics, but they should have been! You had great fear of ever deliberately using that horn to beep your friends, etc.. cause it would be one Llloooooonnnnngggggggg beep. You'd have to drive home with the horn stuck, blaring, embaressing you infront of your friends and everyone else. Then, when you got home, you couldn't get the car to shut off. It would cough and sputter, while you've already got the keys in hand... cchuuggg ccchhuuugggg... cough cough, sputter sputter... until it like back fired and finally died. Horn still blaring. The whole damn car would be shaking and looking like it was a space ship that couldn't decide if it were taking off or landing... talk about rocking the boat... we could do it. And, we'd be sure to draw attention to all this with the horn that's stuck. The back firing thing -- of course it's funny now -- GOOD GOD, how embaressing it was then. Your friends are holding on for dear friggin' life and looking at you like "DO SOMETHING!!!" And all you can do is sit there with the keys in hand. I'm telling you - make.a.list! hahaha

I should drag myself out of bed, toss my hair up ontop of my head, wash my face and run to Wallys to exchange the one item. Then, back home for more baking and a little laundry. Ughhh it never ends. But, the kids are gone so there's a little peace in that. I love them but I enjoy my own time too.

Anyway ladies, have a super weekend.

The heart remembers most what it loved the best.

� grizmom at
2005-12-10
comment

Previous / Next