Phil??? Is that you???

I love my new car. I love my new car, AND, I'm worth it. I love my new car, and I'm worth it, AND, it's all mine! :) Yep, birthday shopping spree landed me a nice used, near new beautiful, reasonable Blazer. Lunch at Ruby Tuesdays and dinner at the Garden Cafe... wow, what more could a girl want for her birthday??

Slept in today and then paid bills. That's such a bummer, but it sure is nice to pay your credit card off. On the down side of that, the LAST LAST LAST tuition statement for son came in the mail today. Between his and mine, we're sporting almost a thousand bucks. Oh well... I'll get it paid. I always do. But he'll be done and that was money well spent and I'm not one bit sorry about one penny of it.

It's been rainy, drizzly, gloomy here today. YS and her family headed to Iowa to see YS husband's family for a couple days. She called tonight to say the weather there was absolutely poor. Freezing drizzle, etc.. I told her to keep it there. I can sure do without any of that here. Some unisured imbusol would surely crash into my new car. Then I'd have to go postal.

I've been quilting and quilting and quilting. I have the finishing touches to put together the top. I've washed and "readied" the backing too. Since I have my Mom's sewing table, complete, like she'll be using it tomorrow... I thought I'd take the millions of old buttons she has in there and use them on the quilt. There is sashing between each block, but I think I could still sew 4 buttons onto the corners of the blocks. Son is actually not opposed to that theory which suprises me. There's 100 blocks, so 400 buttons will have to be sewn on. I don't know that there is 400 buttons to be had, but I'll definately use up what we have and I can buy the other 25 to finish it up. Yeah, I'm guessing, but 25 probably isn't too far off the mark. Rick rack, lace, elastic, zippers, thread.. you need it? I got it in the mix. Crazy!

I did go the Wally's to get some groceries tonight. I was gabbing with a couple of my favorite cashiers and they were asking me where I'd been since they hadn't seen me... blah blah blah... when much to my suprise... a man looked at me all wide-eyed and said "B....?" I did a double take myself and said "Phil??" No way! I haven't seen that guy in probably 15 years. He graduated a year before me but we were band nerds together and very good friends. So, we stood in the isle and blocked it.. oh, yeah, and talked. He lives in Las Vegas. He says Las Vegas is in carnet with lights on it. Too funny. He really wants to move to Denver. His family is all around here so he's really on his own way out there. It was really good to see him though. He asked how my "little one" was.. little one? What little one??? Good Lord man, how long have you been gone?? When I told him my "little one" was a college grad, business CEO, and about to be married, his little eyes about popped right out of his skinny little head. He asked if he could possibly feel any older. Then, he followed that up with "I'll be having my 20th class reunion this year..." Helloo.... you're aging yourself here dude - shut. up. We had a good visit and SWORE to stay in touch - which we've both lied about and will suck at doing.

I know nothing more. No news, no exciting gossip, no nothing. So, I'll climb into my bed complete with electric blanket, and sleep.

Have a great day ladies!

The heart remembers best what it has loved the most.

� grizmom at
2005-12-29
comment

Previous / Next