Destruction or Construction?

Last week was a short, holiday week for us here at job 1. And, for those of us who planned ahead at job 2! Unfortunately, it doesn't hardly seem worth it to take 2 days off, come back on Wednesday and have a whole week of Mondays. So, working a regular 5-day week will hopefully be better than a short week of Mondays!

The wedding thing is about wrapped up, I think. We're down to needing to make centerpieces and then things like food prep at the time of the wedding. Most other stuff is done. I think. The kids meet with the DJ on Thursday or is it Tuesday. I don't really remember, but that's this week. They also meet with the minister on the 15th. So, that's in place. I see the end in sight. Finally. The next big event will be Jamaica! Yeah, a little something for myself. Looking forward to that.

We tore down my old delapitated garage over the 4th. Boy does it look weird. It's been there since I was born (actually before that) and I guess no matter how bad it was, it was like a landmark to me. I'm not sure I like this construction business. Over the last 2 days, we tore down the old shed that will clear the way for the new garage. That too has been there since I was probably 6 or 8. I remember clearly pouring the cement for it with Dad and OS's husband. It would shock me every single time I touched the mixer and the shed at the same time. I can't remember when there wasn't a shed there. Even the old wooden one my parents took down to put up the metal one that I just took down. The garage pad is planned to be poured on Thursday already and son plans to frame the walls on Saturday. Wow, I should be parking inside in no time. I stored a bunch of stuff in YS's garage while this whole thing goes on. Bless her heart for lending me some space. Actually, alot of space. I wonder if she'd mind housing it forever! :) Son said he'll make some storage up top in the new garage for things that we really want to keep but don't have any use for. Things that were Mom & Dads that we can't bring ourselves to part with, things like that. That'll be nice and help keep some floor space open.

From there, we'll do new windows and siding on 3 sides of the house. We'll probably tackle the addition next year or something like that. Funny how I've thought about and talked about all these things for a couple years now, and now, they're becoming real. It's kind of hard to explain I guess. It's what I wanted, but yet, it's sad to see me changing Mom and Dad's things. I'm suprised that I feel this way about it I guess. I didn't see that coming.

Saturday I spent the day cutting and cleaning and cutting and hauling all the crap-ola that grew up and over the old garage and the neighbors fence from my side. And things that grew up in the fence from their side and were hanging over into my yard. My LORD that's alot of junk! 2 pick up beds full and the usual yard waste dumpster full. I bet those garbage men were cursing me this morning. But man does it look better. It looks weird, but better.

The blisters on my heals are finally peeling off. The new boots haven't been worn since it happened. I'm afraid to, although I need to. 4 weeks til the wedding and the boots still not broken in. That can't be a good thing. I guess I should have been wearing them with my gym shorts as I worked on the garage, shed and in the yard. Wouldn't that just have been the sexiest thing ever?

Lizzygizzy, the candles are beautiful! They smell so good! I think you need a brochure and a website. Then I could order all the time! Thanks again!

Junkmel, I'm anxiously awaiting the jewelry you made. I know it's absolutely beautiful! And, since it will come to me at job 1, I'll be FORCED to open it and check it out before the bride does! LOL It's good to be me!

That's about all the news from here for now. It's a drizzly, rainy day that's not only given me a bad hair day, but it's given me the "good day for a nap" syndrome.

Have a great week ladies!

� grizmom at
2006-07-10
comment

Previous / Next