Just the usual...

And the leaves came down. When they're all green and attached to the branches, where I like them, I forget how many there really are. But this morning, they are bound for the ground. It's been a gradual process until this morning. A few here, a few there. This morning, it's a bunch everywhere. As much as I hate to admit it, it's that time of year around here. Brace yourself, snow will surely follow.

This week I broke out the holiday baking recipes. They're so yummy, why do I only make them once a year? Oh yeah, because I'd eat them! Silly me! HD got a recipe from his mother that his grandmother used to make. We're going to give them a whirl too. It's a cherry pie filling filled cookie. It calls for 3 cups of brown sugar. I questioned him about that - 3 CUPS?? Are you sure??? But, I made him a batch last night and 3 cups is right. He'll be home tonight and get that little suprise. :) Moms Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies... oh yum! They have sour cream in them and just melt in your mouth. They're much better if you roll them, cut them, cook them and FREEZE them for a bit. Then when you take them back out of the freezer.. OH MY GOSH they're good! I did an online recipe exchange and got a recipe from my friend Kay in Chicago - Almond Roca.. yeah, chocolate and almonds... gotta love that! HD said he'll help me make divinity. I'm just not woman enough to stir that stuff and remember my parents making it, Mom holding the bowl between her legs and Dad stirring.. and them breaking the spoon because it was so stiff. How about some Mamie Eizenhouers Never Fail Chocolate Fudge? Peanut Brittle? Penuche Candy? OH YUMMY!!!

DIL has been doing MUCH MUCH better! I try to make a nice comment about it and mention it so she knows that I do notice and I do appreciate it! It's like a little slice of heaven right here on earth, in this house. She's does laundry almost daily, she picks up the dishes after a meal, and she's even made a meal or too. I'm IMPRESSED to say the very least. IMPRESSED! She's planning on going back to school in January for Radiology Tech. Again, impressed! She's pleasant and talks and carries on a conversation that doesn't even make you want to punch her damn lights out! :) Sure it nice!

Wedding update: we've narrowed the photographer down to 2, have the dinner worked out, flowers decided on, music - almost decided on, invitations decided on, place-date-time done, guest list done, unity sand ceremony picked, vows - working on, minister - done. Son swears he's driving me in on his motorcycle. HD would love that but I dunno... So, sounds like there's a wedding ahappenin'.

I have a little Christmas shopping done. Actually, most of it. I have 2 more things on the list for HD, it's just a matter of getting them. But with nowhere to hide them, I'll wait. The kids are getting a laptop so that'll be easy. I know HD has been getting a few things for his son too, so all in all, I think we're in good shape.

Co-worker who MAKES ME CRAZY til I could paste her one had surgery on Thursday. THANK GOODNESS! It was the same surgery I had in March. Hopefully this will get her hormones and emotions and everything else back on an even playing field. I'll tell you what, since January, it's been hell. I talked to her Thursday night and she was doing really well, so that's good. She said "you just can't believe how good I feel." UHHhhhh yeah, I can, and you'd better thank GOD that you do! Cause if this didn't fix you, I can't be held responsible for my actions!

We only got to make 1/2 the amount of salsa we wanted to because the "crabby tomato guy" where we were going to get the rest of our tomatoes -- died. So, we'd made a few calls, etc but nothing. It's late late in the season, so we were out of luck. HD, being the well versed, smarty that he is, made a few calls to some produce houses and scored! I'm off to pick up 200# this afternoon, about an hours drive from here. Can you believe it? Isn't he just the sweetest thing?

Junkmel, I was watching Crossing Over last night and thinking about you. I'd love to have a reading too, with my folks. The holidays really get me down because I miss them so much. I really miss Mom alot, and I miss Dad too, but it's different from Mom somehow. I was 21 when Mom passed away. That was 16 years ago. Somedays I swear if I could turn around fast enough, she's right there. I wonder if she can see me. I wonder if she knows how much I love and miss her. Does she know the kids got married and are well? Does she know about HD and how wonderful my life has become? Does Mom know about both of my sisters daughters that never got to meet her? I have no doubt about where Mom and Dad are or how they are but do they know? Can't they just visit me?? Can't Mom just sit down at the bar with me and have a cup of coffee and chat for a little while? Does Dad know that every single day I use the loose plug-in in the bathroom and I think about him. Are they angry that I don't visit the cemetary very often because it just makes me sad? Are they here and I'm just not "tuned in?" How do I get "tuned in?" They could even bring Grandma if they'd just come. :)

Lizzygizzy!! It's so good to see you back. I can't imagine how much you must miss Brad. Just remember, he's watching over you now and I'm sure he doesn't want you all mired down in grief. Take a deep breath, hold your head up high and get back to living. I know you can do it. We're here for you and we love you.

Loki, I see so much of the same things in you and me - where our kids are concerned. Mine aren't parents, yet, and I think they'll do ok as long as DIL stays on her meds. That will make or break that deal. But they way they take and take and take and whatnot... and run over us... geeze. It's hard to put your foot down, or at least it is for me, so it's KINDA my own fault, a little. I'm working on it. I hope you can hang in there. Taking on custody would definately be a huge task but thank goodness that precious little girl has you. Imagine her life without you for just a minute... no.. I'd rather not. Hang in there.

Ok girls, that's enough... Happy Halloween & Trick or Treat.

� grizmom at
2007-10-27
comment

Previous / Next